Heather’s New Home

        This post is not about stray animals, although we love them.  We have all we can handle, and should not take on any more if we want to stay in the good graces of the neighbors.  Musical instruments are another matter.  

        Take this new one I ran across.  I couldn’t help but fall in love.  She was a broken down little tenor guitar, and needed a home so bad.  We took her in and nurtured her like a lost puppy, and she has found new life.  We named her Heather, after a line in an Irish tune. 

        A couple years ago, I helped a fellow with his CD.  He played dulcimer and wanted a few mandolin tracks.  I was happy to oblige.  He offered to pay me, but I knew his project was on a tight budget and I wanted to help him out and do it professional courtesy.

        People don’t forget though.  I was looking for a tenor guitar to play with Al Donnelly, an Irish folk singer I sit in with every so often.  My dulcimer friend heard and gave me a call.

        “Hey Doc, I hear you are looking for a tenor guitar.”

        “Yeah.  Al would like some of that sound in his Celtic work.  I haven’t seen one in years.”

       “Well have I got a deal for you.  I found one.  You want it?”

        “I’d love to look at it.  How much do you want for it?”

        “It’s not for sale, but I’d love to give it to you.”

        “I couldn’t let you do that.”

        “You might change your mind when you see it.  It has been in my attic for years.  The thing is in pieces.  I forgot it was up there, but I saw it the other day and thought of you.  If you can put it back together you’re welcome to it.”

        It was in bad shape sure enough.  The neck hung by a thread and was bowed like a ski slope.  A couple of frets and a tuning key were lost to posterity.  There were several cracks and it was covered in tar and splatters of paint from when they remodeled their house.

       “She’s beautiful.  We’ll take it.”

        I had some old Stew-Mac banjo tuners at the house.  I put all of it in a cardboard box at took it down to Johnny’s Music.  Our local guitar guru opened the package and pulled out the pieces with tender care. 

        “I agree Doc .  She needs a new home.  Yeah, I can put her back together.”

      “How much?”

       “Hmn.  Fifty bucks and one office visit.”

        “Deal.”

        The ‘Harmony’ decal is half gone, and the lower bout has a huge crack we didn’t try to repair since it got auto-sealed with roof tar.  We couldn’t get out all of the splotches of paint.  It has nicks and gouges and probable bar room battle scars.  Lord if she could only talk.

        But then again she does talk her language.  Tenor guitar is tuned in fifths like a mandola, and has a dark lonesome sound.  When you play ‘Will Ye Go, Lassie, Go?’  it is, to borrow a line from my friend Wayne Benson, about as Celtic as man can get if he grew up two blocks from Burger King.  

        I played it this morning.  The thing looks like you drug it home tied to the rear bumper of your car.  We believe it dates back to the 40s, but is only worth about $75.00 on the market, though much more to me.  After all, Heather is like a stray pup and now part of the family.   She is a mutt, but they are always the best ones. 

Dr. B

 

Here is the chorus to ‘Will Ye Go, Lassie, Go?’

“And we’ll all go together

To pull wild mountain thyme

All around the blooming heather

Will ye go, lassie, go?”

Explore posts in the same categories: favorite instruments, Writing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Heather’s New Home”

  1. newt221 Says:

    Doc, I just love your story about the adoption of Heather. Because, things can be “strays” and need love just like animals and people.

    I am an animal and people adopter from way back. The animals just seem to know that I am a soft touch. Even the meanest of them seem to know that I love all.

    The latest story this week from the Vet…My husband bought me a LLama at a yard sale and it just had a baby. And, that’s a true one…The husband is a truck driver and was out on a run and brought home a LLama. While he was off on another haul, the darn thing ended up delivering a baby….

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Cindy,

    Yep musical instruments can take on human characteristics around here. My wife’s bass is named ‘Bertha.’

    One time a llama got loose near Harvey Country Club. One man saw it run thru his back yard and gave up drinking for a while.

    Dr. B


  3. Dr. B,
    This was heart-warming – a beautiful tale of adoption. I am like you, I tend to humanize objects in this manner because they just feel like they have as much back-story as any person I know would have.
    Also, Heather is a good name for a guitar.

  4. drtombibey Says:

    ms slightly,

    I don’t have any collectible instuments, but they all mean something to me. Each has been played hard and when I open the case it brings back many memories.

    Dr. B

  5. Ted Lehmann Says:

    I can’t believe you’re disguising a disease as an adoption. It is well known, among us instrument aficionados, that GAS (Guitar Acquisition Syndrome) is incurable. Sounds like you have as bad a case as one can get. Never met anyone who’d found a cure, so you might as well enjoy it. – Ted

  6. drtombibey Says:

    Ted,

    You are true bluegrass and so right.

    The only responsible way I could deal with the illness was to adopt the needy like Heather rather than pursue high end and/or collectable instruments.

    Otherwise I could have done our family budget some serious harm over the years.

    My wife says I can lust after all the mandolins and guitars I want as long as I stick with one woman. That has worked out well for me.

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

