Red Cross In Australia

        Folks, our friends in Australia have a major disaster on their hands.  A wildfire has leveled towns and killed a lot of people there.  I saw their Prime Minister on T.V. and he was very upset.  I can be cynical about politics sometimes, but this man was in genuine pain.  His television address was no political play whatsoever.  It reminded me of the despair we all felt about Katrina.  

        I write because I love to write and tell y’all about bluegrass, and I keep my blog pretty much commercial free, but when I see a good cause….  well, I guess it is just the Doc in me, and I’m gonna send ‘em a little something.  If y’all feel so moved, I hope you’ll consider that too.  One of my readers is Ms. Karen who is from Queensland, and I pasted her response to my query below.

Dr. B

 

Here are her thoughts:

Thanks Dr B. It has been an horrendous few days in our beautiful sunburnt country. It’s the worst natural disaster in our nation’s history. It really is incomprehensible how ferocious and devastating the fires were. The fires are mainly in the state of Victoria which is on the southern tip of mainland Australia (only Tasmania is further south). We lived there for 6 years – in fact, two of the places we lived in were affected by the fires. All my family live in Victoria but are thankfully out of danger. They are about an hour away from the worst hit areas. The fire was so intense that people simply didn’t stand a chance – no matter how well prepared they were. The death toll is now up to 130 and climbing. Entire towns have simply been wiped out. Arson is suspected in a large number of cases so these towns are now crime scenes. Over 750 homes have been destroyed. It really is catastrophic. We have a nation in mourning at the moment. My three-year-old understands what’s going on – he asked me some very insightful questions today about where people are going to get clothes and food from. Then he told me he wanted to give the people whose houses burned down a present. We’re going down to the bank tomorrow to give some money from his piggy bank (and mine!) to the cause. Life is so precious…thanks for your thoughts and prayers.

In a painfully ironic situation, north Queensland is in flood. Some towns are totally underwater. A 5 year old was taken by a crocodile in flood waters yesterday. We certainly have both extremes going on in this vast country…

  •   Karen Says:
  • February 9, 2009 at 6:59 pm e  Thank you so much Dr. B!  The Red Cross are co-ordinating the main fundraising for disaster relief. Their address is http://www.redcross.org.au – the website is rather slow as there are so many people donating, so please be patient.

    Thanks again for supporting our people. It’s going to be a long road to healing…

  • About these ads
    Explore posts in the same categories: Philosophy

    Tags:

    You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

    10 Comments on “Red Cross In Australia”

    1. Mrs. Chili Says:

      We are one village. The suffering of another is my suffering. I’m headed to the Red Cross site to donate. It may not be much, but it’s something.

    2. drtombibey Says:

      mrs chili,

      I agree with you. If we all do a little something then it is a big thing. None of us are very powerful alone, but together….

      Dr. B


    3. Dr. B,
      I commend you for posting this. It’s incredible, but I actually found out about this disaster not from the news but from another fellow blogger here on WordPress. Her aunt’s house is in danger, and she hasn’t yet left it, though she’s all packed. I didn’t realize the height of this catastrophe until I started hearing about it everywhere else all of a sudden and realized that this is a horrible and very real situation that is going on.
      All my best to Karen – I hope none of the fires get anywhere near your family who live in Victoria. Also, I’m sure you already are extremely proud of your little boy, but I just wanted to say that this child is incredible for realizing and sympathizing with this sort of situation at the age of three.

    4. drtombibey Says:

      ms slightly,

      The Internet is a powerful thing isn’t it? The potential it has to bring people around the world together is a power regular folks have never had.

      Dr. B

    5. Karen Says:

      Thank you, thank you, thank you. The victims of the fire will probably never know the care and concern for them from the other side of the world, but I do. And nothing goes unnoticed in heaven :-)

      I took my little guy to the bank today. He perched up on the counter, handed over his little coins and said, “This is for the people in the bushfire”. I was so proud I could have burst. And from the outpouring locally and globally, I have faith that our world is not the all-bad place some would lead us to believe. Our children have hearts for others and are learning they can make a difference in the world.

      As for the fires, there are still dozens of blazes burning. We are such a vast continent with clusters of communities spread throughout and there are thousands and thousands of hectares of bush – or woods, as you Southerners would say. I have just heard there are two fires that are about to converge which will place another 6 communities in serious danger. The volunteers are exhausted. The fire simply can’t be contained. Thanks for your continued prayers. Estimates now are that the death toll will top 300. It’s our worst peace-time disaster ever.

    6. drtombibey Says:

      Ms. Karen,

      Lord knows our prayers go out to you guys. I believe we are all in this world togehter, and I can not imagine the despair. I sent some funds today. No amount of money can make it right, but at least Australia will know those of us on the other side of the world do have your country on our minds and hearts.

      Dr. B

    7. drtombibey Says:

      Ms. Karen,

      Lord knows our prayers go out to you guys. I believe we are all in this world togehter, and I can not imagine the despair. I sent some funds today. No amount of money can make it right, but at least Australia will know those of us on the other side of the world do have your country on our minds and hearts.

      Dr. B

    8. pandemonic Says:

      It is very sad. We’ll do what we can.

    9. Alex Says:

      Visitors from the UK can help by donating through the British Red Cross at http://www.redcross.org.uk/bushfires

      Thanks
      Alex

    10. drtombibey Says:

      Ms Pande,

      It is indeed. These are hard times, and people are hard pressed. I noticed on the Australia Red Cross site they take donations all the way down to five bucks. (Au)

      No one can fix the tragedy; I think it more a matter of a show of sentiment from one country to another.

      Dr. B


    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 71 other followers

