When Doc gets Sick

         Old Doc is sick today, but don’t feel sorry for me.  It is just laryngitis, and it’ll pass.  As Indie would say, it’s just a thing.

        I didn’t stay home, ’cause I don’t know how not to go to work.  (That is if you call it work- it’s just doctoring to me- no heavy lifting involved.)  I’ve been lucky.  A couple days out in the third grade for the mumps, and two Fridays post cataract surgery is all I have missed through the years.  I’ve been at this business long enough to know your luck can change overnight, so I ain’t bragging.  I’m just thankful for my good fortune.

        For the most part I am against sickness, not that I have much control over it.  I will say one thing for it, though.  If we were never ill, we could not appreciate being well.  When ever I am sick, I always think of my patients and friends afflicted with a chronic illness.  They live that way every day, and the good days are the exception.  I reserve my sympathy for them; they have it far worse than a guy like me who only deals with it sporadically.

         A doctor needs to be sick every so often.  If for nothing else, we need to be reminded what out patients go through.  And I’ll be well in a week or ten days; just in time for Neuse River’s next gig.  

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Philosophy, Writing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “When Doc gets Sick”


  1. Feel better, Dr. B! Must be hard not having a voice while doctoring…
    Being sick isn’t a good thing generally – however, I always have this sort of odd desire to get a little sick once or twice every winter just so I can miss school/work for a couple days and rest. Then, if I ever do get sick – which really isn’t often – I’m reminded just how NOT fun being sick is and I resolve to never wish for it again. Until the year after, when I forget…

  2. drtombibey Says:

    ms. slightly,

    The ‘no voice’ issue is indeed the big problem- makes communication difficult, and it is hard to dictate charts.

    If I were retired, I’d probably curl up and read a book- still a productive day, but I wouldn’t have to talk.

    I guess being sick is like the change in seasons- we wouldn’t know how pretty spring is without the rough winter.

    Dr. B

  3. Mrs. Chili Says:

    It’s a wonder docs don’t get sick far more often than they do. I know, as a teacher, that I get sick quite a lot from being exposed to all those college kid cooties. Well, let me rephrase that; I USED to get sick all the time. I’ve resorted to some clean living and a daily vitamin and I’ve been pretty darned healthy (knock, knock) so far…

  4. drtombibey Says:

    mrschili,

    I go for the clean living too, but all those bluegrass guys who drink white lightning seem to never get sick.

    Dr. B

  5. Ted Lehmann Says:

    Take two aspirin and drink plenty of water. Physician, heal thyself. – Ted

  6. drtombibey Says:

    Ted,

    I will take your advice and forward your co-pay or a book/CD package when they are ready- your choice.

    Dr. B

  7. Ted Lehmann Says:

    I can’t accept the co-pay. Practicing medicine without a license. Guess you’ll have to send me a CD. Incidentally, we drove through the Neuse River Basin today. No sign of you anywhere. – TL

  8. drtombibey Says:

    Ted,

    A CD it is. I was over at the Nursing Home with Indie today. He is getting excited about the book.

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

