Indie at Thanksgiving

        I went by to check on Indie before Thanksgiving.  I’d gotten so busy I hadn’t been by in a while.

        “Bibey, old boy.  How ya been?  Me and Barney (his skeleton) were gonna put out an all points bulletin for you.”

        “I’m sorry Indie.  I should been by- eight days a week you know.”

        “Hell, you don’t have to tell me- I did it forty years.”

        “And you were the best.  How you been?”

        “You mean is that goon ball in my chest giving me a fit- hell, I don’t think about it much.  In Europe they treat cancer as a chronic illness- like arthritis or something.  In American we treat it like a damn football game.  If you ain’t number one you’re a loser- nutty, huh?  It’s just a thing- something to live with.”  Indie hooked Barney in the ribs with his cane and pulled him to his side.  He opened up the skull cap.  “Care for a drink?” 

        “No thanks, Indie.  Gotta work.”

        “Suit yourself.  Don’t forget to smell the roses, though.  You look tired.”

        Ain’t that just like Indie?  There is is with cancer, and he’s worried about me.  “I will Indie.”

        “You been down to check on the cabin?”  he asked.

        “Yeah, she’s all good.  No worries there.”

        “Come spring I want you to get me out of here a day and go down to the river.  I might just go for a swim.  The river’ll cure what ails you, you know.”

        “Will do.”  We visited for a while.  “I guess I better get on to the house.  The kids are coming in and Marfar’s fixing persimmon pudding.”

       “Mm.  That pudding is the best.  Save some for me.  I’ll see you next week.”

        I massaged his neck muscles like Ms. Jenkins used to do.  “Sure enough.  See you then.”

        On the way home I thought about how much ole Indie has meant to me.  Next to family, he was one of the most important people in my life.  Man I was gonna miss him when he was gone.  Better go hug all my people and hold ‘em close.  That sure is what Indie would do.

        Y’all have a good Thanksgiving.  I’m thankful for my wife and kids, my office staff and my bluegrass friends and golf pals, but I am thankful for all you blog buddies too.  One of these fine days, I’m gonna go on my little tour and meet you guys.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Holidays, Writing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “Indie at Thanksgiving”

  1. Cindy Carter Says:

    If we were all lucky enough to have an “Indie” in our lives. I think some of us have one or two Indies that move in and out of our lives due to seasons and situations.

    Going to the Carolina Lowcountry for the Thanksgiving BBQ. Should be a riot.

    You are right….I am going to go and hug all of my loved ones! Aint nothing like family whether they be by blood or by love!

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Cindy,

    Well, you have a good one!

    Somehow Indie takes it all in stride. He’s an inspiration to me for all time.

    Dr. B

  3. Amber Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you too… don’t eat too much turkey!

  4. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Amber,

    I usually follow instructions but I might cheat and overdo it a tad there! Have a great Holiday.

    Dr. B

  5. Karen Says:

    You’ll be glad to know that we are having our own little Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow here in Brisbane. Of all the American traditions, Thanksgiving is my favourite. And we have so much to be thankful for. We’ll get to enjoy our turkey before you because of the time zones!

  6. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Karen,

    I guess y’all can go outside after Thanksgiving dinner and play golf.

    If I were in Australia I’d do just that. And I’d like to watch water circle the drain the opposite way it does here. Something cool about that.

    Dr. B

  7. Ted Lehmann Says:

    I’m looking forward to my afternoon turkey induced tryptophan nap in front of whatever dull football games they decide to throw at us. Meanwhile, the highlight will be watching the parades in the kitchen while putting the finishing touches on stuffing the bird. When I was a kid my Dad (maybe both my parents) took me downtown to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade live. I’ll never forget the huge balloons or the chill winds. We took our kids to the Gimbel’s parade in Philadelphia…once! Have you bluegrassed “Over the River and Through the Woods” yet? Should work great. Have a good one. Best to Marfar and Marie. – Ted

  8. drtombibey Says:

    Ted,

    All the best to you and Irene too, Ted.

    Turkey tryptophan- I like that. Sounds like a bluegrass song. “Over the River and thru the Woods” should work great- I believe I’ll try it.

    If you run into Cory and Lorena on the bluegrass trail, tell them hey too. I wonder if they are going to the Tobacco Triangle festival again this year.

    Dr. B

  9. Ted Lehmann Says:

    If you mean Lorraine’s Homecoming in Burlington, I think they said they’d be there again. But you never can tell with them’ they’re pretty unreliable. First good chance they get, they take off for greener pastures. Durndest thang. – Ted

  10. drtombibey Says:

    Ted,

    Yeah that’s the one.

    Young’us! You never know. If you run into ‘em tell them we’d love to see them, too.

    Dr. B

  11. Smitty Neuse River Pres. Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Doc, we will spend the day with both of our folks. I would tell you not to eat too much but eat all you want. Mom will watch our plates and if she sees us running low she will offer to fill it up.

  12. drtombibey Says:

    A good one to all you guys too, Smitty. I know for a fact y’all are eating good today.

    Just wrote some passages yesterday about Choctaws, Mississippi and banjos. Somehow we are all connected. Look forward to seeing you again. Tell your wife, mom, Ms. Turner and all the kids, and also Conway and the Preacher Doc said hello.

    Dr. B

  13. soulintention Says:

    Dr. B – May you and your wife and family have a beautiful Thanksgiving filled with good food and music —

    barbara

  14. drtombibey Says:

    Thanks soulintention,

    Yep, about we’ll do is play and eat for a day.

    You keep writing that poetry- beautiful stuff.

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

