Exhumed-Excerpt of Chapter 41

Chapter 41:  Exhumed 

        Dawn broke.  Did the ruse work?  Was Snookers able to convince Olden his case was in jeopardy?  All I could do is wait on one of the scouts to call.
        It warn’t long.  Light-thirty.  Six bells. My computer flashed an e-mail alert.  Ms. Cindy had logged onto the blog.
        “Me and Ranger Dog were out for our morning walk and wish to confirm.  There is a body and that body is Blinky.”
        I responded.  “Positive ID?”
        “Yep.  Correct headstone anyway.  Plus Jim Olden was ecstatic.  He said to take him to the morgue now, then re-bury that S.O.B. just as fast as you can.”
        “Got it.  No question, then.  That is a positive ID.  Anything else?”  I typed a response.    
        “Yes.  Do not trust Mr. Olden.  Betty Wallendorf was all but slobbering over him.  Ranger Dog growled at the man.  Ranger likes everyone- Olden must be a cheat.”
        “I always trust the intuition of young women and old dogs, Ms. Cindy.  Thanks for the heads up.”
        “Not a problem Bibey.  Y’all play ‘Lonesome old Graveyard’ for me in your next set,” she replied.
        “Will do.”  Ms. Cindy was a good’un.  I reckon I’d better get down to the morgue and see what was gonna shake out.
        I sauntered in.  “Hey ya’ll, Dr. Mortimer around?  I promised I’d bring him Darrell’s new gospel CD.  Lord a mercy it’s good.”  Everyone looked very nervous, and of course I had no idea why.  “Lord, y’all look like you’ve seen a ghost.  Ain’t y’all used to dead people by now?”…………..

        Well, back to Indie’s current situation.  I am pleased to report he is a little better.  Right after the holiday I’m gonna check another chest x-ray and be sure this pneumonia clears 100%.  I’ll let you know how it looks.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: book preview, writer's corner

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Exhumed-Excerpt of Chapter 41”

  1. Cindy Carter Says:

    Well! Ranger Dog and me are honored! You tell Indie that we hope he feels better soon. Maybe I can bring Ranger Dog to see him . Ranger Dog sure likes that ole skeleton Indie has.

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Cindy,

    All told I immortalized about a half dozen blog buddies and one dog. (My dogs are in future stories.)

    Maybe I am wrong, but I think the book will do a little something and I found it important to include the folks who spurred on my imagination.

    Dr. B

  3. mrschili Says:

    Ooooo! There are BODIES! Now I’m REALLY interested!

  4. drtombibey Says:

    mrschili,

    Yep. It’s a regular medical mystery- almost a CSI kinda thing.

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

