The Tom Bibey Tour Schedule

        I have had a number of people ask me to post a schedule of my gigs, and I just never get around to it.  For one thing, even though I am semi-retired, I still am fairly busy as a Doc and it keeps me close to home.  And too, for a guy who posts twice a week on all kinda details of my doctor/bluegrass world, in real life I am very private.  I suppose it comes from years of indoctrination in the art of secret keeping. 

        John Hartford used to say bluegrass was the last American small town where everybody knows everybody, and it is.  At the same time the Internet is such a vast abyss that I have to admit it scares a country boy just a bit.

        For most part our shows are local affairs.  We play for the Heart Association chicken picking, or over at the Nursing Home.  As Moose says, if it calls for a bluegrass band, we’ll be there- weddings, funerals, divorce parties, gas station grand openings- heck, if they still had hangings I reckon we’d play those.  ( I am glad they don’t.)

        We do get out some.  We have played as far North as Galax, and as far East as we can go (the beach) without crossing the pond.  And, we’ve traveled West as far as Nashville.  In fact, sometime this year I hope to go on a Mississippi/Memphis road trip- will keep you posted.

        But, most of my life is very mundane.  For example, take this weekend.  I’m on call.  I’ll probably spend the weekend in deep discussion of stool softeners and constipation.  There will be some highlights though.  I am going to visit Indie at the Nursing Home, and he never fails to have a tale to tell.  Will update you sometime before Monday.

        Talk to you then.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: places to play

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “The Tom Bibey Tour Schedule”

  1. Cindy Carter Says:

    Darn! Ranger Dog and me was plannin to make all your tour dates! He says he still wants to make sure that Moose is behavin himself. And, he really likes that there Blue Grass music you all play. I kinda like it too.

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Cindy,

    Someday I’m pick out a gig I think all my long time blog pals would like and invite ‘em all at the same time. (I don’t know if we are worth the drive or not though.)

    Dr. B

  3. pandemonic Says:

    I can’t get that visual of “deep discussion of stool softeners” out of my mind.

    I guess having a day job is a good thing, if it lets you get out at night.

  4. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Pande,

    I don’t know if it was a blessing or a curse, but medicine was all I was ever very good at.

    Dr. B

  5. Ted Lehmann Says:

    I dreamed I saw Bibey last night,
    As real as you and me,
    Said I, but Tom you’re on the web,
    I’m real as real can be,
    I’m real as real can be.

    In Raleigh, Tom, Great God, said I,
    Him on the screen all day,
    You played a wicked gig
    Said Tom, I really played that night
    I really picked he said.

    Tom Bibey is as real as life,
    As real as real as you or me,
    Where folks pick bluegrass,
    There he’ll be,
    As real as real can be.

    With apologies to Alfred Hayes and Earl Robinson

  6. drtombibey Says:

    Dang a mercy Ted. I was in Raleigh not long ago. You shoulda come up to shake and howdy. I bet is was me.

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

