Music Mandolins and Mules

        We had a fine night of music this weekend.  It started out with the McCurry brothers mule team plow.  This was a demonstration of old time field work, and a fund raiser for the Boy Scouts.  The farmers came from all over, and the teams plowed up eight acres in a day.  It don’t take long on the south end of a mule to convince a fellow he should cherish the ability God gave him to read and study to be the best Doc he can.  Tough work it is.

        Afterward they had a big cookout.  Chickens on the grill, ribs, a pig picking, whisky skillet beans, apple pie.  Oh my.  These boys travel and play blues music around the country, and said the ribs were on par with anywhere.  They rated Kansas City very high, but their favorite was a place called the “Rendezvous” in Memphis.  

        After supper, we broke out the instruments.  “Big” grabbed a mandolin and I did some flat pick guitar, then we got warmed up and threw hands.  I enjoyed it all, but my favorite was when Preacher McCurry sang a bass part on “Dim Lights, Thick Smoke and Loud, Loud Music, a Flatt and Scruggs number that was an early honky tonk song.  (“I’m Gonna Sleep With One Eye Open” was banned from the radio for a short period of time.  It might have been the first.)  The quartet singing on “Angel Band” was extra good too.

        I did find time to study some doctoring.  I memorized Wells Prediction Rules for pulmonary emboli.  I ain’t missed one yet that I know of, at least if I had opportunity to make the diagnosis, and I want to get all the way to the finish line and keep that record.  At this age, I don’t need any trouble, and I don’t want to change professions and wind up behind one of those mules.  It’s hard work and those rascals are even more stubborn than I am.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: bluegrass characters, memorable gigs

6 Comments on “Music Mandolins and Mules”

  1. pandemonic Says:

    Sounds like a busy day to me.

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Trying to live eight days a week Ms. Pande.

    Dr. B

  3. mrschili Says:

    I just have to look at the work that others do to remember how much I love MY job. It’s not that I’m lazy or anything, but I know for sure that I’d make a lousy mechanic…

  4. drtombibey Says:

    mrschili

    Yep, if I didn’t want to be a good Doc I think that mule would convince me of the necessity.

    Dr. B

  5. sweetiegirlz Says:

    Heyyyyy! Next time you go have fun like that call me!

  6. drtombibey Says:

    Oh Lord there is a picking in the County most every weekend, so stay tuned.

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

