Bluegrass Documentary

        James Reams and the Barnstormers are a New York  group I was not familiar with, but then I don’t get out of the County much.  When I checked their web site they carry a heavy tour schedule; they just haven’t come through eastern N.C.  Their CD came across my desk last week, and it was quite good- very traditional hard driving bluegrass.  Their words describe the style the best- “edgy, emotional and exciting.”

        They are working on a documentary filmed at the International Bluegrass Museum in Owensboro, Kentucky, and it looks to be a dandy.  From what I can see the hard part will be what to edit out, ’cause they interviewed one bluegrass legend after another.  Check their web site for updates, my guess is when finished it is gonna be a keeper.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: classified ads

6 Comments on “Bluegrass Documentary”

  1. Ted Lehmann Says:

    Irene and I saw them in August at the Lake Champlain BGF in Arlburg, VT. They’re a serious, hard driving bluegrass band that does pretty straight up Monroe style pickin’. Worth listening to. – Ted

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Thanks Ted. Ted knows bluegrass, but is extra tuned in on the bands from above the Mason/Dixon line. I figured you had run into them along the way.

    Dr. B

  3. banjobilly Says:

    Who is there banjo man?

  4. drtombibey Says:

    Billy,

    Of the top of my head I am not sure. I’ll look it up after work. The English Professor might know, and maybe he’ll drop by.

    Dr. B

  5. Ted Lehmann Says:

    Doug Nicolaisen on banjo, but I can’t say he made enough of an impression on me when I saw them to be able to comment at all. It was a hot day on a field in far northern VT. In fact, the Canadian border lies just about fifty feet behind the bandstand. We had gone over especially to see the Gibson Brothers, even though Doyle was there, too, and I might have lost my concentration in the middle of the day. Perhaps what’s more
    important though is that there are a mess of bands from New England, New York, and Pennsylvania worth listening to. The festival season in that part of the world is rich and it’s a whole lot cooler and less muggy than Virginia, Kentucky, and Tennessee. Irene and I particularly recommend the Jenny Brook Family Festival in Weston, VT toward the end of June, but there’s a bunch others. – Ted

  6. drtombibey Says:

    There ya go Billy. I knew the professor would know. Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

