Medical Study

        If you want to be a doctor, you better like reading books.  I spent most of this evening curled up with a good one on traumatic bony injuries of all kinds.  Sounds like a romantic evening, huh?

        When you read all the ways an inebriated young male can ruin his life by plunging headlong into five feet of water, it does give you pause for thought.  Wonder what does possess a human being to do such a thing?  I dunno.

        I know I should be more serious; the injuries I read about are very sobering indeed.  As a family doc, you don’t see them every day, but you hate it every time.  Tonight, though, I’ve read so long I’m about to get giddy. 

        A redneck joke comes to mind, and since I’m a redneck I guess it is not too politically incorrect for me to tell it.

        What are the famous last words of a redneck boy?

              HEY,  Y’ALL!  WATCH THIS!!

     Sorry guys.  See you around Wednesday for more heart trouble thoughts, and I’ll try to get serious again.  And if anyone in your family has had an injury like this, I’m not making fun, but just trying to cope. 

        When I think back on my teenage years, I feel mighty fortunate to have gotten out intact.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: mini-posts

10 Comments on “Medical Study”

  1. mrschili Says:

    Hey! New look! I like it!

    You know what? I don’t think it’s inappropriate to tell jokes about our professions, though I can understand your hesitancy to do so in yours. In this vein (no pun intended), let me tell you my favorite English teacher joke. There’s a swear in it, so don’t say I didn’t warn you:

    We’ve got a new student at Harvard, and he’s good and lost. He’s got his first class in a reading room of the library and he can’t, for the life of him, figure out where it is, so he grabs the first student he sees who looks like he knows where he’s going and says, “Excuse me, but I’m lost. Can you tell me where the library’s at?”

    The student looks down his nose at our new guy and says, in his most haughty voice, “Here at Hah-vard, we do not end our sentences in prepositions.”

    Our guy squares his shoulders and says, “Oh. So sorry. Can you tell me where the library’s at, ASSHOLE!”

    Have a great Monday!

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Lordy mrschili. That musta been a bluegrass boy! Dr. B

  3. mrschili Says:

    I’ll tell you this; ever since I heard that joke, I have all I can do to not tack that last little bit onto the ends of other people’s sentences. I’m gonna get in trouble one of these days!

  4. drtombibey Says:

    Well if it happens I’d just say it musta been some sort of medicine reaction.
    Toss in the word idiosyncratic (docs say this when they don’t know what caused it.)- that’ll throw ‘em off every time. Dr. B

  5. Parson Bob Says:

    Gotta add, Dr. B, that aspiring lawyers get to do a lot of reading, too. Big, heavy, small print, plotless books that should include a Latin glossary. And no pictures to color (except, of course, in the Chapel Hill law library).

  6. drtombibey Says:

    They sure do. I hope some of the legal folks will discover the blog and weigh in. And I think Parsons log a few book hours, too. Dr. B

  7. RubyShooZ Says:

    Since my boys are now grown, some of the REAL stories are starting to come out that woulda killed me if I’d known what they had done when they were teens. Now they tell me!!! Thanks kids.

    They just never wanted to worry ol’ Mombo – the lil darlin’s.

    I hope you are fine and well today. Glad to see you’re still plugging away here. Yay!

    I’m running out of steam here today – answered all the comments left on my last post and am trying to make the rounds today and hopefully tomorrow though – then I can share my news.

    Wishing you some measure of peace and tranquility today my friend.

  8. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Ruby,

    As we say in bluegrass, you are a good’un. (a most high compliment.)

    I figure you are one of the matriarchs of wordpress, so whenever you want to to sit back, rest, read and listen to fine music you have earned the right.

    Do keep us posted though. I never talk of any woman’s age, but due to cumulative life experience, I think people over 39 have a lot to say, so post when you can. You have a huge fan base, so never feel like you have to address us individually each time.

    Looking forward to the spring thaw- better weather is just around the corner.

    Talk about what is scary going on behind the scenes in this world, you will enjoy today’s (Wedesday) mid week post.

    Dr. B


  9. nonprohibition corollike novelist riotously janiform overidly teemer mebsuta
    The Irish in 19th Century Portsmouth, New Hampshire
    http://www.accel-team.com/

  10. drtombibey Says:

    Huh?

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

